Archive for January 12th, 2011

January 12, 2011

Character Watch: Lebron James

by Vince

Check our Lebron Jame’s tweet from last night.

It was ironically (?) after his previous team was drubbed by the LA Lakers 112-57, the lowest scoring effort by the Cavs in their franchise history.

I can understand Lebron may still be hurt by Dan Gilbert’s parting comments, but come on. Show some character and move on. This may be between Lebron and Gilbert but it is still an infliction on his former teammates.

January 12, 2011

Ancient Chinese Method for Relaxing a Chicken

by Vince

A little creepy? Quite funny.

H/T: TDW

Tags: ,
January 12, 2011

Aphrodite USB Hub

by Vince

What a neat idea for sprucing up your desk!

H/T: swissmiss

Tags: ,
January 12, 2011

Public Discourse and Mutual Target Usage

by Vince

It seems that almost everyone is commenting about our public discourse being out of control. Since the town halls formed during the summer of 2009 in response to health care reform talks, a lot of posters, bumper sticker slogans, and conversations have crossed the line into invective, vitriol, and cynicism. Since the shooting of Rep. Gabrille Giffords, the president of Fox News issued a note to his station to “tone it down” and turn to a more “civil public discourse”. What a “more civil public discourse” looks like coming from Fox News is unknown to me.

As for the gun targets used by Sarah Palin:

Similar targets (bow and arrow perhaps?) have also been used by Democrats:

The Right has been accused lately (by lately, I mean since 2008) of violent rhetoric. I do recall a lot of hurtful rhetoric thrown Bush II’s way.

In the end, one close friend of mine explained to me a lesson from which she learned it from another friend of ours. My postings on here over the last few months were at times strident. It reflected a hard few months for me. I have since then started to work through some of my own anger and invective but have also looked to change my format and approach. These friends of mine explained to me that I can reach more audiences and readers by speaking to people in love and less strident tones (how diverse a spectrum of readers does Michelle Malkin or Ann Coulter or Michael Moore attract?). An example of this is the writings of Dave True. In the end, I hope I can make a difference in this big national conversation table known as blogging.

January 12, 2011

Gabrielle Giffords in the Hospital

by Vince

The LA Times has some pictures up.

January 12, 2011

Political Cartoon of the Day

by Vince

More on Jared Lee Loughner’s choice of weapon (Glock) and the state that has the lowest levels of gun control here.

H/T: Tony Auth