Archive for January 10th, 2011

January 10, 2011

The Media Swirling Around Tuscan

by Vince

So much has been posted lately on the insane shooting in Tuscan. Much light has been shed on the shooter (mugshot left) as well on the interesting crosshair map made by Sarah Palin.

MJ and I discussed what we knew about the incident yesterday as we walked to get the Sunday paper. Does anyone know if U.S. Congressmen and Women get much security to protect them? Reports have stated that after Jared Lee Loughner ran out of bullets, Rep. Gabrielle Gifford’s staff and a few bystanders tackled him. I just wonder how much security can be given to all 460+ serving us in Congress (the last time a Congressman was killed was in 1978).

I pray for all those injured, killed, and for Loughner.

January 10, 2011

Cosmetic Changes

by Vince

I have tweaked the blog layout for a few reasons. Possibly the day after New Years, I said to MJ  that I wanted Spring to begin. Now.

 With my birthday coming up next month on a certain superstitious holiday, there is indeed anticipation in the air for green to replace grey.

I kept the layout white to still reflect the snow on the ground (and in the air, which is suppose to come down in the next day). Enjoy!

January 10, 2011

Tim Wise On Jared Loughner

by Vince

Always worth the read.

January 10, 2011

List Question of the Week (1/10/11)

by Vince

Join me in these week long discussions based on questions. Email me your responses and we can expand this – vgiordano at gmail dot com.

List things that are beyond your grasp of understanding (example: the Mandelbrot Set).

Mine: The Bible, Life, Circumstances, Marcus Borg‘s writings, the beginning of the world, professional sports plays, certain grammar and punctuation.

January 10, 2011

Quote of the Day

by Vince

“I don’t preach a social gospel; I preach the gospel, period. The gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ is concerned with the whole person. When people were hungry, Jesus didn’t say, ‘Now is that political or social?’ He said, ‘I feed you.’ Because the good news to a hungry person is bread,” —Desmond Tutu

January 10, 2011

Matt Damon, Sarah Palin, and Oprah

by Vince

I love Matt Damon, but I side with Oprah on this one. She has a strong belief in the common sense of America. I too believe our common sense will prevail in the face of Palin’s possible president run. Keep it mind that this video was done in 2008, but since then Palin has written two books, done a crap load of visits, and conjured up thoughts and bumper sticker ideas comparable to that from Mitch McConnell*.

*More on this article to come.

January 10, 2011

Where We Are..And Were

by Vince

We’ve come a ways. More to be blogged on this soon.

Tags:
January 10, 2011

Monty Python in Flying Circus

by Vince

A great sketch.

Tags: